You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 4, 2008.

I finally started working on the 4th garden bed. The problem I have is that when I work in the late afternoons or early evenings I get eaten up by the mosquitos. It’s been a really wet year of late and the mosquitos are out in force! Still, I’m undaunted. I’m going to get it done.

On a different note, the energy audit of the house is coming along albeit slowly. As soon as I’ve gotten the major appliances done I’ll post the results and how I plan to trim back my energy consumption. From my estimation our house uses about 17,000 KWh per year (according to PEPCO) and the average house in Maryland (or perhaps it’s PEPCO’s service area) is about 12,000 KWh per year. My goal is to get down to about 10,000 – 11,000 KWh per year. Once I’ve done that (hopefully by next summer) I’ll have the plans drawn up for the Solar power system for the house and I’ll apply for the grants from Maryland.

Other projects that are looming are the rain barrel project for the garden, replacing the toilets in the house and doing a water audit as well to see how we can reduce our water usage. I don’t see this as a burden but rather as doing my fair share in conservation so that my children, and their children, will have a livable world in the future. I reject Vice President Cheney’s assertion that conservation is merely a “sign of personal virtue” but rather it is the beginning and a strong part of an overall energy policy. In my mind, it proves how bankrupt and empty his perspective is.

I’ve recently been guided by three quotes:

“This we know. The earth does not belong to man. Man belongs to the earth. All things are connected like the blood that unites us all. Man did not weave the web of life, he is merely a strand in it. Whatever he does to the web, he does to himself.” – Chief Seattle

“In Our Every Deliberation, We Must Consider the Impact of Our Decisions on the next Seven Generations” – From the Great Law of the Iroquois Nation

“Live Simply, So That Others May Simply Live” – Gandhi

In each of these I find wisdom and focus on the fact that we are simply tenants on this Earth and that we fail in our capacity as stewards if we cannot live in greater harmony with the world so that future generations will be able to enjoy the same wonders as we have.

Anyway, enough blogging for now…time to get to work…have a great 4th of July!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feedburner RSS

Licensing

This blog is covered by a Creative Commons - Attribution, Non-Commercial, No Derivative Works 3.0 US License

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 52,296 hits

ClustrMaps

