We’ve got tomatoes! We now have 27 tomatoes coming in on the tomato plants in the garden and there appears to be a bud on the zucchini plant. The pole beans are coming out of the ground and we really need to get the peas in. Also, I’m watching the eggplant plant.

We potted a few peppers in pots and they seem to be having a bit of a problem. Unlike tomatoes which are self-pollinators the peppers need help from insects like bees and butterflies. The problem is that I haven’t seen that many pollinators in the garden or near it this year. They’re there…I’ve got these little weeds in the yard that flower and I can see the bees (both honey bees and bumble bees) flying from one flower to another but they’re not really getting into the garden plants yet. My feeling is that people have been spraying pesticides on their yards to kill the weeds (I know because I see the yellow “Caution” flags in their yards that the lawn companies use to tell people to stay off the grass — of course, bees don’t read signs so they still go for the flowers that have just been sprayed) and that’s impacting the overall pollinator population. I’ve decided that I may have to eventually start keeping a hive in the back yard to help replenish the bee population in this area…on top of that it may just be a good thing as I may be able to help fight against the loss of pollinators overall due to mites and colony collapse disorder. I recently read an article on the WTOP website that quoted the fact that the numbers of beekeepers in the United States has declined since the 1970s and that probably the best way to save our bee population is by encouraging hobbyist/backyard beekeeping. That being the case I also found this article talking about how beekeeping is coming to urban areas as well as the outlying farms.

Anyway, here are some more pictures of the garden.

