Well, the baby has been feeling sick the past couple of days but tonight was a whopper. Usually she’ll go back to sleep if either I or Diana hold her or if I give her Motrin if she’s not feeling well. Tonight she’s been up for over an hour…crying and fussing. Poor thing. I don’t have much patience for it lately since she’s over two years old and she knows better and because I haven’t had a full (or even partial) night’s sleep in over a month. But she’s got a slight cold and her nose is bugging her. So, I’m up now. I can’t seem to go back to sleep immediately so here I am writing in the blog.
I don’t think this would be so bad if it wasn’t for the fact that I was awakened last night by a call from American Airlines at 2:30 a.m. to let me know that my 6:40 a.m. flight was pushed back to 8:00 a.m. That was nice of them to call, but at 2:30 a.m.? After that I just dozed until about 5:00 a.m. and then finally got up to get cleaned up and go to the airport. All in all the past couple of nights have been on minimal sleep.
Well, at least I wasn’t in town yesterday for the Shrub’s coronation…I mean inauguration 🙂 . Four more years of this c lown…makes me shudder. And what’s even sadder is there are people in the neighborhood who post e-mails to the community mailing list talking about how all the Democrats should get on a special cruise ship heading for Europe where all of our “friends” our waiting for us. I really like that small-minded attitute of “If you don’t support Bush you’re unpatriotic.” Whatever happened to the Jeffersonian concept of “Dissent is the highest form of Partiotism.”?
I didn’t support Bush because I believe that he has committed the necessary “high-crimes and misdemeanors” which the constitution stipulates are the grounds for impeachment. I also believe that he’s nothing more than a rich kid who got by on his daddy’s money and never had to worry about a thing in his life. And now he’s the president for the next four years. He’s led us into Iraq (amazing how we haven’t heard much about Afghanistan lately…wonder how things are really going over there) which has resulted in an daily drudgery of death and carnage. I’m not going to argue that good things are not happening over there and the left-leaning, “liberal” media is just not reporting them…that would be disingenuous. But I do know that we are now mired in the very type of situation that we wanted to avoid. All because Bush (and yes, the responsbility should go ALL the way to the top…he can’t just shift the blame to Powell or Rumsfeld on this one) and his team we’re unable (or perhaps unwilling) to plan for the peace. The Shrub lied about the WMDs of Saddam Hussein (I accept the fact that Hussein was laying the groundwork for rebuilding his WMD programs once the sanctions were lifted, but intent does not necessarily constitute a violation of the law…if that we’re the case alot more people here in the U.S. would be behind prison bars than what is currently there). I’ll agree that the Democrats did no better by bolstering the Shrub’s case with their support, but eventually someone must take responsibility for the fiasco that is Iraq today (personally I’d like to see every politician who voted for the war based on the WMD evidence take some responsibility) and the final person is Bush. But like his CEO friends at Enron and Worldcom and Tyco and other places, the reality is he won’t. He’ll just say that his CFO misled him on the state of affairs or some other excuse to push the responsibility onto someone else. He’s like John Gotti…the “Teflon Don”…except he’s the “Teflon President.”

